It’s not all about being a brilliant writer – (Reflective Post 4)

“How I Got 6.2 Million Pageviews and 144,920 Followers” Is a catchier title than many, I think as much as most bloggers hate to admit it, we do post for views, and we most definitely post for followers.

The article itself wasn’t much interest to me, this guy was a businessman, he writes to pitch ideas. I write partly because well…it’s required of me, and partly because I enjoy it. I mean, you never know, one day I could be writing from a business angle and that’s not to say that this guy doesn’t have some good tips.

Two points that stood out were ‘no more than 25 words in a sentence’ and ‘no more than 3 sentences in a paragraph’. A blog post is completely different to a book, or a breaking news article. One of the greatest difficulties of writing a blog post is keeping people interested whilst reading, overly long sentences and paragraphs are definitely not the way to do that.

Another point that applied universally was to split the post up with images, hyperlinks and other forms of multimedia. This simultaneously gives the reader a break and intrigues them. You can find the full post here

See what I did there?

Clo.

Leave a Reply

