An Introduction

Okay, so I was never much good at talking about my life. However, I’m getting better. Maybe it’s confidence, maybe it’s narcissism.

I’m Chloe. I’m nineteen. I come from a little big town called Wigan in the UK. Late last year I moved from The North down to The South to study Fashion Journalism at Southampton Solent University.

It’s strange really, this time two years ago I expected myself to be in a little dorm room in Manchester after opting to study criminology and law, because “hey, Law, good line of work, your parents will be proud, if it goes well you’ll have a stable future”. Until I realised that basically, my interest was rooted in American crime TV shows and if I wasn’t actually Tim Roth in Lie To Me, I wasn’t as into the subject as I thought. Needless to say, my tutor wasn’t happy when I came in saying I wanted to apply for Fashion Journalism instead.

When said tutor asked where I wanted to study my answer was “Don’t care, as long as it’s in a city and I’m not stuck in the middle of nowhere”, because I am literally, maybe, one of the most restless people you could ever meet. Most of my friends are studying at Lancaster University, which is a wonderful place, but if you want anything more than a Subway, you better have bus fare. I love Southampton, it’s enough like home and enough like somewhere new to keep me satisfied for the time being.

Fashion is a primary interest, next to many other things, namely music. If I’m not wandering around the city, I’m usually at a gig. As I write this now I’m preparing to see Green Day tomorrow. I’ve always been a writer, as a kid it was books and stories, now it’s still books and stories (when I can find the inspiration) and journalism, hence the degree. I l like taking photos, namely of the sky and I like painting and drawing, as long as it’s something easy.

2016 was a big year. Both the best and worst year of my life. I went to a lot of gigs, went to my first festivals, moved away, had nights I wished would last forever. I made a lot of new friends and became closer with older ones. I realised the person I wanted to be – where I want to go? I’m not entirely sure yet.

This is my journey after I stopped playing it safe.

One comment

Leave a Reply

